Soaring

Tuesday was hard.  Shared grief is never easy.  I tried to keep to myself at work for the morning, so that I wouldn't have to focus on the hurt.  I had the opportunity to drive to a nearby coastal town in the afternoon for a training/meeting, and while I didn't feel like I had the time...I embraced it.   I looked to the sunny skies, and thought about how my hardships are NOTHING compared to some.....

After the meeting I stopped by a local shop to pick up some fish and chips.  I was to break my "no wheat" streak of a month and a half.  Grief will do that to you.  As I waited for my food, I enjoyed watching the seagulls playing in the wind.  They truly soared.  I could feel their joy...feel their intention to go with the wind, and fly faster than ever before. It was something to smile at........

I made it home....alone, as Sugar was still at her cousin's house.  I settled in....and tried to be productive, but really just fell asleep early.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.