Little Artist Chloe.

This little poppet is five.  I gave her class a variety of photos showing athletes competing in various sports.  They chose the one they liked and drew the athlete using blue pen.  I wanted them to fill the page and show the athlete moving. Then they used water colour paint to paint the picture. They exceeded my expectations. They drew the athletes in their uniforms and put in any equipment.  No one did a stick figure.  The pictures all looked delightfully natural and unique.  Chloe was singing or talking to herself as she drew.  Then she patiently painted the poles yellow and red.  In case you can't figure it out her picture is of a man in a kayak. 
At school we have a connection to canoe slalom because Mike Dawson who competes in this event came and talked to the whole school about the Olympics.  He competed at London also.  His sister is one of our staff.  So I sent Chloe off to see Miss Dawson.  Miss Dawson took a picture on her phone and sent it to Mike.  Tomorrow night she is going to Tauranga to be with her parents and together they will watch Mike compete in the semi finals at 4.30am Thursday our time.

Thank you for the stars and hearts for yesterdays Mono Monday Touch.  It was a blip snap with several others.  I was impressed by  Honecombebeach and the way she wrote so touchingly.  I could only manage a haiku.  She also had a delightful extra showing her on her wedding day.  I have found a pic of me and the forester and included it as an extra if you care to go back a look.  I'm always amazed how young we look.  How did we know what we were doing?  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.