We did it!

He only cried for about twenty minutes at the beginning and ten minutes near the end. Bella was splendid, helped in every way to keep him calm and to reassure him. He ate all the snacks his mom brought plus some that I provided. He ran, played with Bella on the playground, "read" books, put legos together, danced with Bella, and kicked his feet as I walked and walked and walked him in the stroller. Our last walk was after dark, and Bella gently complained, "My legs are tired," but we kept on walking till we were all cross-eyed with sleepiness.

Their mom came back an hour early because it was only rehearsals, not a full performance. Shortly before she arrived, he collapsed across a pillow on the floor, eyes glazed but unwilling to fall asleep. Reminded me of his sister, three years ago.

I'm off to bed now, grateful for the day and grateful that it's over and we all made it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.