Ramblings from Zambia....

By dcafrica

Election fever....

On 11th August, Zambia are having Presidential elections as well as local elections and a referendum!  Quite a lot for the average voter to be able to take in at one time!  There are huge billboards everywhere in Lusaka these days and most of them are for the current President, Edgar Lungu!  Unfortunately there have been some violent clashes between supporters of Presidential candidates so we are praying that on Thursday we will have peaceful elections!
 

 This morning I got a bit of a fright - put the hot water geyser on and went back to bed.  About 10 minutes later there were 2 loud bangs, I thought coming from my neighbours house!  However, when I went into the kitchen where the main switch is, I found burning wires leading to the geyser!  I am so thankful I went to investigate - I got an electrician to come and fix it later but the wall shows the evidence of the fire and the electrician tells me that the wrong size of cable has been used from the geyser which is why the fire happened!  So now I am waiting on the landlord.....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.