... with one eye open.

By Chamaeleo

Coot in flight

Well, um, this is a coot flying...
Terrifying. I think that this might be photographic evidence of laws of physics being broken...
I have not seen this before. I have seen coots flapping (often), I have seen them running along the surface of the water, but I have not seen one with air between its feet and the water.
This was meant to be straight and level flight, not landing...

Earlier this year I read the following on Wikipedia:
"[Coots] tend to have short, rounded wings and are weak fliers, though northern species nevertheless can cover long distances-the American Coot has reached Britain and Ireland on rare occasions. Coot species that migrate do so at night"

On reading this I realised that this would be my ideal cause of death; my epitaph would read:
[Chamaeleo]
Killed by a low flying coot.


I took some fine photographs today: I caught a heron and mallards in flight, I snapped moorhenlings and mallardlings being utterly cute, but here is a not very sharp or crisp photograph of a coot in flight, just as evidence of prescience should the worst happen I eventually meet my demise in the manner I desire.

I've uploaded the better photographs to my Blipfolio:
Mallard in flight, Heron in flight, Moorhen & chick.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.