Seedcases and Grasses

I've been playing with the multi-exposure function on the camera. There is an art to deciding which of the exposures to take first, and where to place the exposures within the frame. There's a lot of trial and error. I quite like this attempt which isolated hogweed seedcases against the sky and then captured some grasses in the field behind as a backdrop. You can see the hedgerows in the distance too.

Great weather today. Warm in the sun when it eventually came out. Basil and I went scoping. I have a mission to find a suitable wheat field in which a young couple will pose for their pre-wedding photos  with the sunset behind them. All being well.

Much of the winter wheat is now being harvested. Some fields are already reduced to stubble. So it's a matter of time before the combine moves in and mows down the grain. 

I think I've found a pretty good site out at West Leake. The wheat is very close to harvesting. A few green sprouts around the edge of the field but it looks ripe within. An alternative site lies on the west of Shepshed where much of the grain is still green. West Leake is a better vantage point. I took some shots and put an album together for the couple to make their choices, pointing out that Friday, or at the latest, Monday, would be good days.

We'd travelled via Oakley Grange Farm again where I was hoping to catch swallow parents feeding their young. No such luck. For one thing, they don't come by when humans are in the vicinity, secondly, they're far too quick, and thirdly, it was rather darker than the other day. I had a latte and chatted to Ingrid for whom I'd brought one of my prints taken on Monday. She has invited me to put some of my photos up in the cafe for exhibition. She says people prefer nature best and I shall need to produce some greetings cards too. This is another mission. Great to be asked to exhibit.

En route home, Basil and I stopped in at Joy's for a long chat, a cuppa, and a refreshing G&T. She's still having to take antibiotics after her knee replacement but is looking a lot better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.