Exit?

Just a few hours before my passport expired at midnight, I started to have serious back pains and sadly with past knowledge of such things knew it was kidney stones wanting to make an exit but had got stuck. So went straight in to "A&E" mode - no food or drink. Didn't get to sleep until 5:00am and so didn't get to the hospital until 10:30. I don't bother with GP or Urologist, just go straight to the Urology ward with a packed case.

90 minutes later had given blood and urine, been given the i.V. bag with a dose of painkiller, had the ultrasound, been pushed through the CT donut, had the lecture from the anaesthetists, signed all the disclaimers and was lying in bed dressed in stockings and gown. Around midday got wheeled down to operating room. Didn't get the chance to climb up on the operating table as they knocked me out in the corridor and I don't know what they gave me but I have no memory of the wake up room.

Did get an evening snack ... the hospital considers 5:30pm time for evening meal. At about 10:00 pm went downstairs trailing along a large bag attached via a catheter to my innards and moved the car as I had driven myself in and can only park for 24 hours in free space.

The photo is of a poster in the anaesthetic departments offices where one gets the ..... worse thing that can happen is ........lecture.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.