Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Photo project - the seaside

I have 2 photo projects to do for my photo class summer homework. The one on People and Places is well underway, with all the images shot. I just need to spend time on the processing and printing.

One way and another I had not managed to visit the coast for my Seaside project. I decided that today was the day when I would take all the images and on one beach. Hendon Beach in Sunderland used to be a terrible mess. It was dirty, full of rubbish and awkward to get down from the cliffs to the beach. As a child I was not allowed to go there alone, although it was not far from home.

Sunderland Council has put a lot of money into a clean up and there is now a promenade along about half a mile of beach. The old groynes are still there, but the coal that coloured the beach black is rarely seen. There were always people down there collecting coal as I remember it.

Here is one of the photos from today, as the tide rapidly came in. I had a very interesting day and think hope I have the 6 images I need.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.