Today's Special

By Connections

Abstract Thursday

Today was the 75th anniversary celebration and open house of the Whatcom Museum of History and Art, and I enjoyed visiting both the Lightcatcher building and the Old City Hall building on this sunny summer day. 

There were greeters, cake, live music, docent tours, a sidewalk chalk art contest, food trucks, and more people than usual in all three buildings (Lightcatcher, Old City Hall,  and Syre Education Center), as the museum was free today and open from noon until 8 p.m.  

Once again, I found myself drawn to the "Colorfast" site-specific installations in the Lightcatcher building, which has just over five more weeks to run. This was my third visit -- you can see the earlier ones here and here -- and I may return again, as I love being in this space.

Youoregon1 is hosting Abstract Thursday today, and the theme is "Run." It's admittedly a stretch to say that my blip today fits that theme, but the shimmering of the suspended leaf-like structures definitely has movement, and the fine lines on which they're suspended look like lanes on a running track... to me, anyway!

Blip 1612

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.