Dawn's Journal

By DawnP

August challenge : Day 4 : Somewhere you sat

Today I sat in the car next to the ruins of a 12th century castle in Eynsford, Kent and ate my lunch. The view from the car took in the remains of part of the curtain wall, surrounded by a now dry moat, and looking across the Darenth Valley. If you look carefully, you can also see part of the bridge leading over the moat to the gatehouse behind me in the mirror.

We often visited Eynsford as a Sunday afternoon out when I was a child, and Mum and I revisited the village in April when I captured a classic view of the place. However, we were blissfully unaware of this place. Indeed, today it took two trips through the village before I finally noticed a tiny brown heritage sign for the castle, and then saw the English Heritage board next to a rather larger sign pointing to the church hall!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.