Happy Birthday Mum

Wishing my wonderful mum a very wonderful birthday.

My mum is not keen on birthday's and she hates a big old fuss, so without warning her three daughters swooped on her at 10am on a Sunday morning, bringing bottles of fizz, a cake, cards and a bundle of memories.

We managed to convince her to take a break, grab a coffee*, and open her cards - it wasn't an easy task, let me tell you! Once her cards were open she spotted the bundle of memories - only she thought they were more cards. This is her opening the very first one. I have to confess it was fluke that the first one she opened was from her eldest brother. We had tears - we needed multiple tissues.

I thought she'd want a break after some of them - but no, she couldn't stop. Not until each and every one had been opened. We had laughter - a lot of laughter. We learnt a lot about mum from her younger days - her brothers remembered some fantastic incidents! There were memories from us girls of our childhood and it goes without saying that we had more tears too. Mum had forgotten some of the memories people wrote about - until they'd jogged her memory. It was a wonderful experience. I'm so glad we did it.

We let her recover from this and then my younger sisters nipped inside and brought out the box of family videos that we'd had converted onto DVD (all ten of them!) for her. Cue lots more tears...

We're going out for a family meal later and then back to the house for cake and prosecco. This will be another fabulous memory for us all.

Happy birthday Mum. Love you lots.


*One of my memories is that I am NOT allowed to make mum a coffee. Even as a 37 year old adult I get it wrong. We laughed a lot at this one - particularly as it's not just me that can't make her a coffee - Casi tried to when she arrived and pretty soon mum grabbed the spoon saying "I'll do that" in her panicky voice :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.