Military Oath

Today we drove back to Helsinki to watch our son take his military oath. Military service is mandatory for boys in Finland. For girls it's optional. Today in Helsinki Senate Square the Guard Regiment's 600 rookies of which 26 were young women took their oath.



Oath is a promise to the military at the early stages of military service (at the very end of rookie period). After the oath the rookies get a promotion. My son is somewhere in the back giving his oath. The oath is taken in front of the commander of the brigade  and the flag of the regiment.



After the festivities they marched pass in formation. Then the soldiers gave their rifles back and they were ready to go enjoy their weekend vacation.



We took Niklas out to lunch and then we drove back to Loviisa. The dogs were with us in Helsinki but stayed in Niklas' flat while we went downtown.



I'm sooooooo tired now. It's been a long day. I was almost too tired to blip.



I liked this shot the best. This is when they are in the oath position. I have another cool shot too. On left side is the mayor of Helsinki and on right side the colonel of the regiment.  (If I understood correctly. When I was that age it women weren't allowed in army.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.