Turns

My turn to see the Kelpies! I’ve hankered after the towering wonder of them every time I’ve seen them on blip but was amazed to discover that they’re on a narrow strip of land between the motorway and a long row of pylons lining the canal and that there’s a canal lock between them. An unexpected meld of pastoral and industrial. Although we arrived at Grangemouth a good hour before the forecast rain was due to start, the humidity was considerably over 100% and they glistened with um, sweat?
 
Then my first ever visit to the Falkirk Wheel. The eleven locks that used to connect the Forth and Clyde Canal to the Union Canal were dismantled in 1933 and this vast boat lift reconnected them 70 years later. Impressive, even in the pouring rain, and I was glad to see it so soon after my visit to the only other boat lift in the UK.
 
Then we discovered that we should have pre-booked accommodation. I’d assumed it would be easy to find bed and breakfast places. Not so.
 
First extra is the M9 bridge over the Forth and Clyde Canal next to the Kelpies.
Second is the Falkirk Wheel.



Black and white in colour 102

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.