Wetter And Wetter

I made a point of making sure my tripod was in the car today. I felt I was missing my visits to Ullswater and the day looked good. I had jobs to do before work but promised myself I would make the effort to go when I closed the shop.

Driving out of Penrith the Ullswater valley looked dark. Good moody clouds I thought. As I was beside the lake I noticed how dark it was for 5.30pm, cyclists hadn't got lights. I suppose they expected to be home before they would need them.

Then the rain started! Thunder and lightening, very, very frightening!

I stopped at one of my favourite places but swimmers were in the way of my shot and it was too wet to get out of the car for a better position. Travelling down to Glencoyne Bay the rain seemed to be easing. A car that had followed us from the first place pulled in beside us and two ladies got out of their car with a tripod. Now I don't feel quite so insane.

The rain was getting worse, I tried to shelter under a tree. I had my Barbour on but I'd forgotton the hood. It being August I hadn't brought a brolly. Silly me!


This shot was taken with my coat over my head letting the lens peep out from under it. My legs were getting very wet. I didn't have time to bother with the tripod. I hurried up the slippery path to the car. The other ladies were leaving too.

Just into the car in time before the heavens really opened. Torrential rain, thunder, lightening and now hailstones. The road resembled a river.

I got saturated and have now dried out. The picture though, has NOT been desaturated, it really was that grey down at the lake today!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.