Pottering About

I was pottering about this morning on my Sunday search for a blip. I stopped the car to see what the view through a gate may be like when I noticed someone had fastened a squirrel feeding box to the oak tree. What's that? There's something orange beside it! OH, MY GOODNESS! It's AGES since I've seen a red squirrel!

Now was the camera handy on the passenger seat?

I scrambled over the front seats into the back ones then reached over them into the boot for the camera.

Now was the 55 - 250mm zoom lens on?

I took off my trusty 60mm and put on the zoom and wriggled back to the front seat.

Would the squirrel still be there?

I took a couple of poor shots through the windscreen, just in case. Slowly and carefully I opened the car door and leaned out to take some more shots. ARRGH, SCREECH, ARGHH, SCREECH! I'd caught the windscreen wiper stem!

Would the squirrel stay after that?

Gently and slowly I crept out of the car and, avoiding the noisy gravel, moved in closer. Just then I caught sight of another silhouetted as it ran across the gate. TWO red squirrels! As I stood, motionless I could hear the sounds of chomping and looked around. THREE red squirrels!

Am I lucky, or what?

I stayed a little while but, anxious to let them feed, they were sitting eating, not just running away with the hazelnuts to bury them, then felt I had been truly blessed and snuck quietly away from the feasting.

After Mrs Tiggy-Winkle yesterday and Squirrel Nutkin today (well the female version of him) am I on the brink of a Beatrix Potter series?


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.