Unexpected Drip

After a lovely morning out photographing red squirrels yesterday morning the only drips I expected to come across involved a change in the weather. Who'd have thought that a slight pain in my chest felt yesterday morning would have ended up so bad by evening that I would ask to be driven to hospital in a nightie and dressing gown last night at about 9pm.

I thought, and still do think, that I was having a reaction to a dust cloud briefly encountered on Saturday I've had similar experiences a long time ago with dust and aerosols. However, when I went to the local A&E last night they did an ECG and found I had a cardiac branch bundle block. It's to do with how electrical impulses are passed across the heart. My pulse was "all over the place" so they called an ambulance to take me to the Infirmary and began treating me for a heart attack.

The paramedic gave me an injection of morphine to reduce the pain, that caused my blood pressure to fall and that made me feel really odd. He quickly got me lying flat and set up a saline drip.

So here I was, with The Man, in the early hours of this morning, waiting for a chest x-ray and the results of a blood test. By 3am they were telling my that my blood didn't contain the proteins resulting from a heart attack. So all was well and The Man drove me home.

So today, I have a small heart problem, which isn't a cause of concern, and undiagnosed chest pain which I am treating with rest and Paracetamol.

I'm home and all's well!

I'm looking at this and thinking it's an Annie sort of blip!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.