Dutch Skies

By RonBuist

Perseids!

Our first night at Hof van Saksen. At the time I wanted to get to bed, I suddenly realized the perseids meteor shower would reach its maximum tonight. I stepped outside and noticed the sky was very clear. It just had to be done! So out I went, to the small lake about two minutes walking away from our cottage. I spotted a few meteors, but most were too faint and fast to register on a photo. There were a couple of bright ones, but they were out of frame.

At about 1 AM, the activity decreased (as predicted). Just as I thought I should get back to the cottage, a very bright meteor appeared right in my frame. Mission accomplished! No need to wait for the optimum time of 3 AM; time to get to bed...

Today: our first full day at the resort. Lots of activities for the girls and lots to be discovered. But first: breakfast!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.