Berkeleyblipper

By Wildwood

Paint Matching

There must be an easier way to match the color on the door. Surely there's a bit of that color somewhere on his pants. Without all the dirt and cobwebs, it wouldn't need painting. I'm sure I could do a much more efficient job of it, but nobody asked me.

What is everybody looking at? Apparently the same thing the dog is looking at. But can't dogs see things outside the range of human vision? Or is he just closer to the floor?

It's Saturday morning in Sebastopol Hardware and this is just the paint department. It's also the first Saturday of the month, so everything is 20% off. And there's a popcorn machine with free popcorn. I love this store. I love to eavesdrop on conversations and speculate on what projects people are working on. In addition to paint, Sebastopol Hardware has birdseed, garden supplies, barbecues, plumbing supplies, gopher wire, irrigation supplies, kitchen knives, putty knives, and fishing knives, office supplies, hammers, flashlights and, oh yes...hardware. They also have dozens of people in red vests who know where everything is. It's just like the old fashioned hardware store I used to visit with my father when I was a child, right down to the creaky wooden floors and bins of nails.

Thank goodness a few things don't change.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.