The 'Johanna Lucretia' in Gloucester Dock

Some months ago I added a note to my diary that the steam engine 5043, Earl of Mount Edgcumbe, a member of the distinguished Castle Class, would be passing through Gloucester on a round trip across the Welsh Marches. I wasn't sure whether we would be on holiday in Scotland, but had hoped to go and photograph it. As it happened I was free so at the last minute decided to try and find a different vantage point to film it from.

I plumped for Over Bridge, built by Thomas Telford in the 1840s, before the railway was even built there, as it now has been replaced by a modern four lane structure close by. From the bridge I had noticed that the railway line leading westwards into the Forest of Dean and South Wales was sited close by and this seemed like a reasonable viewpoint.

Sadly the orientation of the railway line means that morning light would shine towards the camera which isn't a great idea. Whilst standing there taking a couple of test shots under the scudding clouds, a man on a bicycle pulled up to chat and asked if i was waiting for the steam engine. He tld me there was another good vantage point down beside the line only a few hundred yards further west, but I declined to go there as  there wasn't much time and I had this viewpoint in mind. Stupid me. I should have followed his suggestion.

When the train came, it was actually travelling faster than I anticipated, compared to a couple of modern trains in service which had passed by just before.  The lighting changed a lot compared to my test shots and for some reason I kept the shutter speed quite low, compared to my normal choice when tracking trains. I also didn't pan the shot and all in all it looks pretty rough and not sharp. I knew immediately and was cross with myself.

So on the way back round the centre of Gloucester, I decided to drive into the Docks and spotted a twin masted sailing boat moored outside the dry dock. I quickly parked and spent just a few minutes taking some pictures and decided to blip one instead of the steam engine.  It is a boat called the'Johanna Lucretia' which was built as a working trading vessel in Belgium in 1945, and has had a varied life with a number of owners sailing in odd places around the world. It might now be staying in Gloucester semi permanently, but it is a bit far from the open waters. 

I have added the steam engine to my 'Extra photos' just in case you are interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.