Adrian's big smile

I nearly arrived on time for my Blipmeet with Ellaphant, and her husband Adrian, who were staying in Bath during their holiday in England. I'd suggested driving them out of town to see a bit of the local countryside, which suited them.  We started at the Dundas Aquaduct, where the Kennet and Avon canal crosses the River Frome a few miles east of Bath.

From there we followed the river valley upstream by car towards Bradford-on-Avon and stopped in the tiny hamlet of Iford, where Helena and I visited the lovely manor house gardens a couple of years ago. The house was closed today so we could only look from afar which meant standing around the bridge over the local stream. Here I took my photo of Adrian, and I like his smile very much so have decided to blip it.  We all liked the statue that stands at the apex of the bridge's parapet looking across the meadows just below the house and gardens. I've added an 'Extra photo' of Ella standing on the other side of the bridge which shows the house in the background.

Then we drove another couple of miles further on to Bradford where we had a snack lunch close to the main bridge over the river Avon.  I've always liked this rather quaint town with its pretty river frontage and the soft golden tones of the local stone. We walked over the footbridge to see the Saxon Church which dates from about 1000AD, in the reign of Æthelred.  Inside the small building are several spaces, which have been well renovated in more recent times.  I have added an 'Extra photo' of the beautiful light streaming in the south facing window at the rear of the building, as well as a view from the footbridge of a converted warehouse building from about the 19th century.

I sadly had to drop Adrian and Ella back in Bath before I headed across the city to where Helena has been staying recently to take her home.  Helena met them both yesterday and hopefully we can all meet up again in their homeland of The Netherlands in another time. We may be able to go there to visit Helena's brother and his family at their home in the east of the country.  I had a great time with them and wish I hadn't been so tired and also had more time to get to know each other.  I like Blipmeets.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.