Scrapbook Saturday/Alternative Olympics: SpiderWeb

Incy Wincy hated being caught in the spotlight during the Alternative Olympics Web-Building Competition; he also hated having to build his web on a windy night!

This blip also serves as the next in my Saturday Scrapbook series. The challenge was simply to photograph a spider's web. My "Editor"was sitting in the lounge last night when I popped out to the garage for something and turned on our outside floodlights. Through the window she noticed this web in such a position that the light fell on it rather beautifully and she suggested blipping it. In true blip honesty I waited until just after midnight to photograph it so that I could blip it for today with a clear conscience and use it for my Scrapbook Saturday entry. By then the wind had caused some destruction which Incy was frantically trying to repair.

The wind also made the photo tricky, as I had to use a high ISO and a wide aperture to get a fast enough shutter speed as the web wafted around in the breeze. This is the best shot I could get.

Many thanks to dbifulco for looking after the AOG challenge :-)

PS 10pm: 22 hours after taking the main blip I saw that Incy had done a pretty good job of repairing the web, but seemingly had got fed up and deserted it - maybe he's gone back to the Olympic Village for a rest?! The "extra" diptych shows a less magnified view of the web taken just after midnight (when I took the main blip) on the left, and on the right the repaired web as seen now, ie 22 hours later. Amazing!)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.