Pictorial blethers

By blethers

Cheerful food

It didn't actually rain much today - though even as I write this, safely returned from a walk which was windy and mildly disagreeable, but dry, I can see the rain advancing resolutely down the firth towards my study window. I did actually take a photo of PS Waverley steaming past Cumbrae, but as I only have an iPhone just now and no real camera, it's too pixellated to be interesting. But why worry about a grey sea and a paddle steamer, be she never so picturesque, when you have two glorious bowls of salad to charm ...

So here it is: another foodie pic. Mixed leaves, baby peppers, bright little tomatoes, snipped spring onion, dressed with a mix of virgin olive oil from Crete and pomegranate molasses, and topped with sunflower and pumpkin seeds and - the last, the finest detail - chopped up 'fig pie' * bought in the wonderful Creta Nature in Chania market, where the lovely owner recommended I try this as well as using it in a sweet dish. 

It was perfect. Result!

*Actually dried figs mixed with ouzo into a sticky paste which is then formed into a sausage.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.