Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Right On Cue

I seldom try to shoot lightening because it's so difficult. My camera/lens also won't focus on anything if it is too dark.  This evening, shortly after sunset, the lightening started over the mountains.  You can usually set your watch by it during the monsoon.  I thought I would go for it...

Believe it or not, I caught this bolt on my first try.  Then I started to get greedy. There were some more extensive flashes and I figured if I caught one already that this might be my lucky night. 

Wrong.  Just as the hummingbirds play games with me...waiting until I'm focused on one spot then flying to a different one, so went the lightening. 

First I saw bolts flashing on the right side of the sky, so I focused there.  Waiting, waiting...
Then it seemed to migrate to the left side of the sky, so I refocused the camera.  Waiting, waiting...
Side to side and back to the center. 

I quit after thirty minutes satisfied that I got anything.  Maybe it was my lucky night after all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.