Caturday Morning: Dexter Waiting

I had some things to do in the yard. The recent storms have knocked over all of the monarda and the globe thistle, and so it was trellis time in the butterfly garden and the flower beds out front.

And there was weeding to be done along the stone path to the deck. When the rain rains, the green stuff grows. And so there is plenty of growing going on now; you can almost hear it, after the rain.

When I came back inside after all of that, Dexter was waiting for me at the top of the front steps, as he often does. When I saw the wistful look on his face and the way the light from the front door had lit him up, I knew I had to snag a couple of shots.

I had to go past him on the steps to get the camera, which usually causes him to abandon whatever pose he was in. But this time, he stayed put, and obliged me by stretching out his paws and giving me the same look when I came back.

And so here is Dexter waiting for me on a Caturday morning. The little black ear tip tufts are courtesy of his grandma, Fluffy Kat, who was a Maine coon, and a prodigious leaper. 

Dexter is a well-dressed tabby. He always seems the very picture of sartorial perfection, with those shining white paws and bib and chin. Yes, he likes to keep them VERY clean.

You can also see the darkness of the rosette pattern between his ears where I like to give him smooches every time he will permit it. Sometimes he will and sometimes he won't. You can see why I often think of him as the Sultan of Swing.  :-)

The soundtrack: Dire Straits, with one of the very first songs of theirs I can remember, Sultans of Swing.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.