The Return of the Bunzinis

For some time now, I have been sharing tales of the bunnies who live in our yard. Last year, my husband made friends with several of the bunnies and they became quite close. Mini Bunzini was his favorite, and when she gave birth to babies, we named one of them Binky, for its mad binky skills. (A binky is a silly-crazy hop made by a happy rabbit.)

Binky grew up. In mid-May she spent lots of time in the meadow, and then disappeared. We presumed she went off somewhere private to have babies of her own. Since then, the yard has been very quiet, with few (but occasional) bunny sightings.

Guess what: we've been seeing bunnies again! On this evening, my husband was looking out the cat's room window, and he asked me to come have a look. And so I did.

And what did we see but THREE bunnies: this one, coming up from the right side of the yard. Two other (smaller) buns were coming up from the left. Could the larger bun be Binky, and the two smaller ones her babies? It very well could be! We've been calling them "the Bunzies," short for Bunzinis.

And then all three met in the middle of the driveway, and they played and chased each other and ran all around the front of the yard. It was really something to see! Bunny heaven!

My husband and I laughed and cheered and were generally simply delighted. The yard is full again with the highjinks of rabbits. Hooray, they're back again! Who says you can't go home?

The soundtrack (yes, I've used this before and I'll use it again!): Jon Bon Jovi and Jennifer Nettles, with Who Says You Can't Go Home.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.