My What Big Ears You Have!

After the bizarre weather we had on Sunday, Monday was a real peach. Bright sunshine, blue skies, puffy white clouds, breezy, with warmer temperatures. It was like a dream of what a May day should be.

My husband had left for a backpacking trip Monday morning, so it was just the cat and me at home. Everything was peaceful in the yard. I was sitting in my chair by the butterfly garden in the early evening, watching for the hummingbirds, when I spied a small brown figure out of the corner of my eye: Binky Bunzini, heading for the meadow.

As I watched, she walked into the middle of the meadow, with her ears out on full "radar-bun" mode, fully alert and listening for signals. She stood on her rear legs multiple times, each time giving me a quizzical look.

I took lots of pictures, and she was so cute that it really made me smile. I seldom get as close to her as this! It didn't occur to me until later that she may have been hoping I was somebody else that I wasn't: my husband, with snacks!

But alas, there were no snacks, as I am not the bunny tender and am not trained in such activities. She was also quite skittish, so I'm not sure she would have come any closer, even if I'd had something tasty to offer.

The tune to accompany this image of a big-eared bun is from one of my favorite rock operas. Here is the Who with Tommy, Can You Hear Me? (Check it out; it's short and quick, and they look like they're having LOTS of fun.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.