I built this!

Another trip to the Montrose Museum today specifically to check out the B.E.2a  -  see my extra.  A B.E.2a of No.2 Squadron RFC was the first aircraft of the Royal Flying Corps flown out of Montrose to arrive in France after the start of the First World War, on 26 August 1914. My extra is a replica that has been built by volunteers.  I was so lucky this morning to meet Brian, the man who rebuilt much of it including the engine and the cockpit – see my main blip.  I have put another of him in a less serious mood in an extra. He was happy to have his photo taken and, of course, I gave him my Blipfoto card  -  I hope he takes a peek tonight. He knew every inch of the plane and I was fascinated by his knowledge about the different woods and fabrics involved in the building of the original plane. He rebuilt the cockpit as shown in one of my extras. He is a very talented man indeed, and a great speaker. I am so glad the weather had been so good here this weekend - it has proved a bumper weekend for the Museum I am sure. You can see more of the history of the B.E.2a by scrolling down this link.  Hope you are all having a nice weekend:)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.