2nd Sat Strollers

By AndrewDBurns

the past grows bigger every minute

Had a really lovely day today - took a bit of a special steam-train trip on a 'Fife Circular' route ... and a great time was had by all :-)

Reminded me of this Norman MacCaig poem where you really can almost hear the 'clatter' of the train!


London to Edinburgh

I'm waiting for the moment
when the train crosses the Border
and home creeps closer
at seventy miles an hour.

I dismiss the last four days
and their friendly strangers
into the past
that grows bigger every minute.

The train sounds urgent as I am,
it says home and home and home.
I light a cigarette
and sit smiling in the corner.

Scotland, I rush towards you
into my future that,
every minute,
grows smaller and smaller.

 ---

Norman MacCaig (1910 - 1996)

---

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.