Jamjaragain

By Jamjar

Women's Trad Festival 2016

I'm aching a bit and the gritstone has been doing it's worst to my elbows and hands, but what a fantastic weekend climbing and so well organised by the ladies of The Pinnacle Club!

On Saturday we were put into small groups with a mix of experience and our group of three decided to go to Birchen Edge just across from the campsite.  We did a few routes, with varying degrees of success - the starts are often really difficult at this crag - and then after lunch I did my very first lead climb.  I am so chuffed! 

Saturday night saw a communal cook-whatever-you-like bbq - burgers and vegetable kebabs for me - and the raffle draw when I won a very nice Patagonia jacket, which was brilliant and long overdue since I haven't won anything in a raffle since 1975!  I also got a t-shirt, as did everyone who did their first lead climb that day. Win, win!

On Sunday we formed our own group of four and went off to Bamford Edge where H lead for the very first time and I lead two more routes yay!  We finished at about 3.30pm and headed into Hathersage to make use of the 25% discount flyer from the outdoor shop, and to have coffee to keep us awake on the drive home.

The sponsors took lots of photos and videos of the climbing, including from a drone - which should make interesting viewing when they're uploaded.  My photo shows (from top left clockwise) my two climbing partners on Saturday, the official Women's Trad Fest t-shirt - which of course also spells what the f***, various festival participants on Trafalgar Wall at Birchen Edge and lastly but certainly not least H standing proudly at the top of her first lead climb at Bamford.  I hope the event is run again next year.

Edit:  I've added an extra of me standing at Bamford Edge which a new friend's just emailed to me. The new friend is Mary ♡

2nd edit: Me on my first lead.


Sorry I haven't been commenting, and I won't have an opportunity to until later in the week after I get back from North Wales.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.