If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Going home!

Dalston Show day, but I had to spend most of it prepping the Lodge!  However I was able to get there by mid afternoon only to discover I had missed a mini blip meet which Clickychick had recorded for her journal.

I wandered around the show enjoying the fine weather and the fine stock in the cattle lines.  One event in the main ring particularly caught my attention, the parade of vintage tractors.  There were all sorts from this 1930s Case (37 I think) through to machines I remember as being something to aspire to on farms when I was a boy.

Case are an American firm and at least one of the local tractor firms started by selling a case back in the 30s.  I particularly liked this shot which I took towards the end of the day.  The owner was obviously preparing the tractor for transporting home.  That was what amused me.  He drove the tractor on to a trailer, nothing unusual in that.  The fact the trailer was being pulled by another of his vintage tractors was what gave me the smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.