Turn that off!!

I am one of those strange people who loves the sound of silence.  I have such a manic busy mind that I can't handle increased noise being fed into my head.  Each morning my Lovely Man turns on the radio in the kitchen to listen to the morning news.  I have already read this in bed on my iPad, but then, he is a much better sleeper than I, so he is still waking up at this stage. After breakfast I suggest (gently) that we could now turn it off and, being such a lovely man he complies.  It comes on again after lunch so he can listen to "The Country Hour" on ABC (he is a retired farmer). I certainly don't begrudge him that and try to share the hour with him, commenting where appropriate (I think).  Occasionally, I will listen to classical music while baking or ironing. It can be quite soothing, but really I am happier without it.
So there you have it.  The noise of the radio blaring out the nuances of an endless football game, horse races, rock music, political speak, et al, simply sends me from the room.
Ah, silent solitude!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.