TreeHugger

By TreeHugger

Olympic gold

It is the colours of our national flower, the golden wattle, that have inspired the design of Australia's uniforms for the Olympic Games. This wattle is native to southeastern Australia, flowering in late winter and spring.  They are cross pollinated by several species of honeyeater and thornbill.  The flowers are quite tiny and difficult to photograph so I thought I would distract you from the soft lesser defined splodges in the centres of the blossoms on my sprig of wattle by emphasising just how small they are relative to a pen. Mr. Hobbs has already done wattle so well. So, having listened to his advice, I am sure my skills with wattle will improve. (I think this is a little over sharpened). My extra is of a tiny "aberration" I found on the tree. A 3mm pod of some kind, with a solitary blossom growing from its side.  I have looked for another on the tree, but no luck. The seed pods are generally elongated and bean shaped, so I am not sure what I have discovered. 

I am finding it so difficult to keep up with all those loyal people who respond to my Blips and equally difficult to comment on all your new contributions. Please forgive me if I fail to respond for a few days now and again - just until I can catch my breath! Meanwhile, thank you for all your wonderful useful and encouraging comments, stars and hearts.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.