To Cumbria and back

I've had this extra loop through Cowgill on my hit list for a while but haven't been sure if I've got the legs for the hills.  I decided to give it a go. It's a long, long time since I've cycled through here and it was probably a route of half the distance.  Thankfully, I didn't need to think too hard about cycling past the two train stations.

I'd remembered there was a lovely river and a viaduct and it was a great trip down memory lane to head back through this way.  You can follow the viaduct on the left towards another barely visible one at the back, just before the large expanse of trees on the far hill.  The road travels along the valley floor and then upwards, passes through the far viaduct and trends leftwards and up the hillside; it's just visible.

The sun barely made an appearance but I think that was in my favour with the air temperature.  My second stop at Settle before heading over the last hill, I'd planned to have a cake to eat and flapjack for the road but, feeling a little peckish, I demolished the lot with a coffee before setting off back.  

Another splendid day on the bike. 
Bit jaded now.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.