An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Mad about the Boy...

Today I am no longer the mother of a teenager.   My boy has turned 20!

That can't be right.  Twelve.  He should be 12.  I am sure he was 11 yesterday.  Yes that sounds right.  Not 20!!!  Someone has stolen eight years!  If it was you, I demand you give them back!

The day started well.  Alan wanted to open his cards and pressies before he had lunch (usually he gets a bit overwhelmed by gifts and opens the cards but it can be days later before he turns his attention to the gifts) so that was lovely.   

And he did very well.  Lots of lovely clothes, gift vouchers, games, new swimming shorts and inflatables for the pool (well done Auntie Agnes :-) a pillow with Gill's face on it (big hit :-) to name a few.  And still more to come!

Grandpa appeared in time for lunch then afterwards we all went out a run to Aberfeldy, where they went for a wander while I sat on a lovely bench by the Tay and took photos.  

When they returned the plan was for me to get a lovely birthday photo taken with Alan.  David had my camera (always a nervous time for me!) and I stood beside Alan's wheelchair getting ready to pose.  Alan, for once, was full of smiles getting ready to pose with me.  

I bent over and leant in towards Alan, smiling like an eejit waiting for David to take the photo, and as I did so, I inadvertently pushed the joystick that works his power chair and it shot forward at full speed, pulling me with it!  

It took a second or two to work out what was happening as all I could see was David's horrified face as we hurtled towards him at full speed with me getting dragged along (it was at speed 5, if I'm pushing Alan I have it at speed 1.5!!!)  Just before impact I had the sense to stop leaning on the handle and the joystick and the chair came to an immediate stop, with me almost going over the top of it.  

David hissed, "what the f*ck?!!"  then there was a moment's silence before we all dissolved into hysterical laughter.   David said one minute I was posing for a photo and the next it was like the scene from the Norman Wisdom film with the lawnmower  hahahahahahahaha!

Time for ice cream then back home for dinner then Alan went out for a wander with Jo.  They met Gill who was out kerb crawling looking for them.  I got a text from her saying " we've been given a breach of the peace charge for singing "happy birthday"" outside the posh gaffs!!"  


Back home just in time for birthday cake and more singing.


Phew.  I am exhausted.


Happy Birthday my Golden Delicious.   You may be 20 but you will always be kiss and cuddle size to me!  :-)))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.