An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Happy 21st Birthday GD...

Then and now :-))

Twenty-one years old!  I can't quite believe it.  I really do feel I went to bed as mum to a two year old circa 1998 and woke up this morning in 2017.  I look at photos of pre-5 Alan, primary days and early secondary and it literally feels like a few months ago.  But nope, there is no denying that our little GD (Alan was very blond as a youngster so we nicknamed him Golden Delicious :-) is all grown up.  You only have to look at the photo in extras to see how his appreciation of females has gone from maternal to....well I don't think I have to spell it out! :-))

As the main birthday celebrations were on Saturday, today has been very laid back and very lovely.

Ed popped in just before lunch to wish Alan happy birthday and drop off his card and pressie.  Alan was very happy to see him.  It's always good fun when Super Ali and Super Ed get together and there was a lot of laughter as they caught up with each other.

This afternoon the three of us and Alan's support worker Ashleigh S headed to Dobbies to look for some things for Alan's new garden.  We were thinking wind chimes, some ornaments (no gnomes! :) and maybe a small water feature, but the place is being refurbished so there wasn't much of anything.  Nothing for it but to head to the cafe for refreshments.

Once home Alan was keen to open all his card and pressies (a revelation as usually he takes days to do this) so the three of us got comfy in the garden room and I helped Alan open his crds and gifts as David kept a careful note of who gave what and took photos (lots of photos, I'll be editing for weeks!) 

What a lucky young man he is.  So many wonderful gifts and fantastic cards.  He loved absolutely everything and I think David managed to get a shot of his reaction to every card and pressie, so that will be lovely to share with everyone.

We also had time to chat about Saturday's party and he says he had a great time and loved seeing everyone.  I am so relieved and happy that I listened to my instincts and persuaded him to let me organise it.  

There was lots of puppy talk today as lots of his gifts were puppy related.  Carole sent him a photo of the puppies (see extras) saying one of these little monkey will soon be his.  So much excitement!  

After dinner, we lit the candles in the small birthday cake I'd bought for today and David, Kirsten and I sang Happy Birthday again and the candles were blown out for the last time this birthday.

What a lovely, low key, family day.  Just what we all wanted :-))


So Alan, twenty-one years down the line, is your and our lives as I imagined they would be on that life-changing day, 15th August 1996, and in the days that followed?  No, not in the slightest.  Our lives are way beyond the best I could imagine back in those early, confusing and frightening days.

What a journey it has been.  Twenty-one years riding the roller coaster of your life. What a thrill! What an adventure! What a privilege! You have taught us everything worth learning and made us much better people than we could ever have hoped to be. 

Your dad and I are so proud of you and how you have coped with all that life has thrown at you.  No matter how many set backs and periods of pain and ill health you have endured, you have faced it all with courage and patience and always come up smiling.   You amaze us every single day and we are so proud of the young man you have grown into.  

Wishing you a life of health, happiness and much love.  I love you more than life itself....even more than gin!   :-)))

I look forward to sharing a lot more of this journey with you :D xxx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.