Not so common...

I didn't feel like driving too far today, so opted for some gentle recording around Temple Wood, a very large Forestry Commission woodland a bit north of Bourne. A lot of it was quite dull, but the rides were quite rich, with more small teasel than I've ever seen anywhere else, and plenty of flowering angelica and greater bird's-foot-trefoil, which were attracting bumblebees and drone-flies. The botanical highlight was a clump of fragrant agrimony, a common species in the south, but quite scarce around Peterborough. I've been looking for it for years, but as soon as I spotted it I realised that, in fruit, it's quite distinct from the much more frequent common agrimony.

The butterflies weren't remarkable, though I spotted a  single flighty female silver-washed fritillary. I also came across a small colony of common blues in one clearing, and realised that I've scarcely seen any this year - maybe I just haven't been in the right places at the right times, but I suspect that they're not having a good year. This one still seemed sleepy, despite it being mid-morning!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.