Post lunch activities

Even with leaving a little bit late from Sydney last night, the flight we were on arrived at a less than appallingly late hour. Until this flight was put in by Air NZ, we had to leave Sydney mid afternoon (which means leaving the Blue Mountains by midday), or take the 1830 + flight arriving in Auckland at midnight, which is what we have always done. Only an hour earlier (by schedule), we landed not long after 2230, bought some malt whisky on the way through, and were home and in bed by midnight.

Even so, I decided that a late start at work today was deserved. That decision was helped by the registrar being on leave and not needing supervision at 0800. 

The day was clinically busy; however, I was able to have a walk with my lunch roll. I had just finished eating when I saw how two others were spending the time after lunch. A little Pied Shag (Kawau paka) was drying its wings in a tree on the causeway between the main lake of Pupuke Moana, and the western extension. Meanwhile, someone whose work had ended by lunch time was walking across the causeway to where some hospital staff score free parking; on the side of the road down to the rowing club rooms by the lake edge.

By the time I finished and got home, all I wanted was to sit quietly and rest, then eat, and now post this.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.