Wasdale Head

Chester are playing at Barrow tonight so I thought it would be a good idea to get up early and go fell walking before the game.

9.5 miles later I have been up Scafell Pike and Great End the highest and fifth highest of the Lakeland Fells and I can really feel it. I must admit it's one of the toughest walks I have done and I was really struggling at the end. Starting from Wasdale I took the route up via Styhead and Esk Hause then a diversion to Great End and along to Scafell Pike. This was actually a good route up except for the last quarter mile. It was longer but it was a more gentle climb. I returned on the direct route which was really tough. I'm glad I didn't go up that way

One of the problems is that although I am reasonably fit and do a lot of walking I don't do so much hill walking these days. It was also what felt like the hottest day of the year and I finished my 2 litre container of water with 2 miles to go.

Still, when I was struggling I just thought what would Laura Trott do.

It was actually quite hazy on top and this was taken near the end when the light was best as I gratefully spotted the car park at Wasdale

Now for the tough part of the day. Driving to Barrow to watch Chester play for 90 minutes.

Apologises for the lack of comments and responses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.