Hartlepool Maritime Experience

Who would have thought that Hartlepool had so much to offer?

We spent the morning wandering around the National Museum of the Royal Navy and the Museum of Hartlepool which were both very informative. My main picture shows the historic quayside where the restored Trincomalee boat is open to the public. 

The town museum included a room about the cartoon character Andy Capp. I didn't realise that Reg Smythe who wrote the strip was from Hartlepool and it was based on his family and people of the area. Reading about this gave me a completely different perspective. I never used to find it particularly funny but when I looked at them again in the displays they appeared much better than I remembered.

After leaving the museum we drove over to the old Hartlepool Headland area where we came across the statue of Andy Capp which is my extra.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.