Diary of an Edinburgher

By LadyMarchmont

Hot!

The day dawned bright and sunny, with the promise of a fine day to come. Hope the Scottish school kids made the most of their last day of the holidays - the best day of the summer - while the poor teachers were in school. JR is really enjoying no longer being employed by Edinburgh City Council.

After a gym visit (not me) we took Archie up the hill. I hobbled half way up the hill then came back round to sit on a bench. Archie and JR went on up the big hill. I did my leg stretches on the bench for ages before I saw them on the brow of the hill, miles away. I used my whistle to call Archie, and he came charging down all the way, sometimes losing track of where I was, because of hills and bushes, but he made it. What a long run! This is him, lying under the bench in the shade while we awaited the arrival of JR, who did not run.

Then we took advantage of a certain pizza chain's generous offer of a bottle of Prosecco in your birthday month. But as I'm not indulging in alcohol at the mo, what with all the pills, JR needed help, and Rufus's mum kindly offered. I had the most delicious pizza, the one I always have, but could only eat half of it. I've just had half of the other half for my tea (JR helped).

JR popped into town to return an item, and came home in a different top. As you do.

The cycling last night was even more manic than usual - there was a huge race with dozens of riders, and the last rider is illiminated every second round right to the last person. What a brilliant concept.

When I came home I intended to sit outside on our new outdoor furniture, but I lay on the sofa, put on the TV to watch the 200m heats and accidentally fell asleep. Must have been that half glass of prosecco I was forced to have.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.