Mindseye

By Mindseye

The sun has got its hat on....

Hip hip hip hooray!!!!!

We were both awake just after 7, having slept well, again!! We were late to bed......Olympics have a lot to answer for ;-) so hub said he wasn't ready to get up so we dozed, and before we knew it, it was 9 o'clock!!!

Hub was off out for lunch with a couple of ex work colleagues in his Treasurers role. I was going to go with him, drop him off and toddle off with my camera for a couple of hours. Luckily last night we realised our hairdresser was coming today so I stayed home and finally planted up the three plants I bought at Tatton Flower Show weeks ago!

I also cut back, dug up and replanted a wayward achillea...it was in the wrong place, not any more ;-) I also moved our dark red Westerplate clematis from a tub into the ground behind the achillea, which is white tinged with pink.

I popped round to next doors did all their watering, front and back, filled their garden waste bin with a final trug of cuttings, then did our watering. When I checked the clock in the kitchen I was shocked to see it was 1.05..... Hairdresser due at 1.30!! Made myself a quick ham and cheese sandwich and a cup of tea, just finished it as Julie arrived :-) she was just finishing my colour and low lights when hub walked in right on time for his haircut ;-)

Once Julie had gone we sat in the garden with a cuppa and I showed hub the results of my mornings hard graft......he approved :-)

I was in the middle of making a large batch of tomatoe pasta sauce, as hub had picked a kilo or two of tomatoes from the greenhouse, I diced two onions, two cloves of garlic, two chillies, with a handful of thyme and oregano, all from the garden, cooked it down in a little olive oil, a splash of balsamic vinegar, salt and black pepper, a lastly a teaspoon of sugar....even if I say so myself, it is delicious :-) when Mum rang, which was a nice surprise, as she has been getting a bit confused using the phone book on her phone, but she obviously managed :-)

We had salt and spicy belly pork roasted in the oven, with pasta coated in the sauce I'd just made.......topped win Parmesan, with enough left to freeze for future pasta based meals :-)

I can see these sun flowers from the kitchen window, so smiley glowing down in the sunshine today. They are in a neighbours garden, planted for their daughter who is disabled. I hope she can see the sunflowers bobbing around in the breeze.....they certainly make me smile :-)

More Olympics tonight, come on Team GB in the velodrome!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.