Today's Special

By Connections

Richness

I've had a day of diverse activities while Phil was at his woodworking class, beginning with finally finishing the transfer of information in my paper-based address book into my "Contacts" on my iPad. I feel very modern now!

After a quick lunch, I drove into town, parked, and enjoyed the Jefferson (County) Museum of Art & History, which had a diverse display of local Native American art, as well as one on bordellos in Port Townsend's earlier days. After strolling both sides of Water Street, noting the variety of goods on display (must return to the homemade shortbread place!), I drove to the post office and an independent grocery store to replenish our supplies.

By then it was time to pick up Phil after Day 2 of his class. After a short break at home, we returned to Fort Worden for our evening meal, at "Taps at the Guardhouse," which offered a wonderful variety of small plates.

What you see here is Mystery Bay (local) goat cheese that has been rolled in caraway and lavender seeds, sitting in a dish with a little honey, to be spread on the flatbread just visible, and enjoyed! It was an unusual combination, but one I can't wait to replicate at home. Phil and I both had cups of Northwest razor clam chowder, rich in cream, bacon, andouille sausage, potatoes, and butter, and he had Dungeness crab cakes... and one of my unctous goat cheese balls. That allowed me to still have some room for the apple galette with cinnamon ice cream and caramel sauce that we shared!

I've not been able to comment on your journals today, but will do so tomorrow -- I'm sure you'll understand.

Blip 1615

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.