Cometh the Day, Cometh the Hour

Tonight the Book Group cometh.
What is it about having visitors that provokes mad Dower House home activity on the cleaning front? I'll tell you what it is - it's to pretend that I am not a slummy pensioner with a dusty unclean house given to spending my time sitting in cafés eating scones and fingering my camera when I should be down on my knees scrubbing floors.
It's all a big con trick on my part, but at least the house gets a once over now and then.

And so, apart from giving everything a dicht * over with a wet cloth and a tickle with the vacuum cleaner, there was a dash into town to buy the accompaniments for the lemon almond cake, Greek yogurt and blueberries, and beat the hoarde of humanity attracted by the sunshine and the Festival.

Meanwhile His Lordship is off up into the hills at Lamington and I intend to spend what time is left to sit in the sun with the paper, because there is an ugly rumour that the heatwave is finished this afternoon.

*clean, polish

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.