*¨*:•Everyday Magic•:*¨*

By Squatbetty

My Year in Film 188/366

The Tea Drinking Invalid
Camera: Fujifilm Instax Mini 70
Film: Fujifilm Instax Mini Film

One of the oddest days I've ever spent on holiday in the Lakes.

Went over to Coniston early in the morning as my mum had a follow-up appointment at the hospital in Barrow. She looked pale and tired and was in a lot of pain. I felt guilty for not going over the day before when I saw her and realised her assurances that she was "fine" and there was "no point me going over" was just my mum typically not wanting to cause a fuss or put people out. 

It's a long journey to the hospital and it made me realise how vulnerable people in an emergency must be up there. It took us the best part of an hour (and a stressful journey) to get there. Back home in Sheffield their nearest hospital is 15 minutes away on proper, fast roads. That realisation made my later decision a few days later much easier.

We weren't sure how long she'd be so we dropped my mum and dad off at the hospital and got them booked in safe and sound and then Norm and I took Holly for a little walk at Roa Island. I'm not sure I'll be going back there in a hurry, but it was interesting in a run-down sort of way. The café there was nice though.

Went back an hour later and my mum had been seen and was waiting. All was going well with her arm and they gave her a much better sling. Another long journey back to Coniston (via the wonderful Booths at Ulverston for some nice stuff for dinner).

We were all knackered that evening. In fact I can't remember anything about it. I was very comfy in my tent though thanks to investing in a new inflatable mattress and sleeping back. Snug as a bug in a rug!

I posted this picture of my mum on facebook so friends and family knew that she was ok. My brother made me laugh by saying that it looked like my mum was wearing a baby grow and had tiny little legs. I hadn't noticed that and now I can't see anything else when I look at it :)

Backblip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.