The fuchsia macro challenge...

For some strange reason I had decided today that I would take a macro shot of a fuchsia flower as my tiny Tuesday Challenge. Fortunately we have a very prolific fuchsia bush in our garden. If I'd thought about it carefully enough I would have realised that fuchsia flowers are not ideal for macro work being both long and quite wide on their outer petals. With this need for a fairly wide depth of field it was almost impossible to blur the background. There was not a cloud in the sky so the sun was also very bright and flat merrily blowing all the highlights. I got myself into all sorts of strange positions trying to isolate individual blooms, even though I was using a tripod. There was also a strong breeze so I had to stop even few moments to let the movement settle down. In the end I found the only way to minimise the background clutter was to shoot against the sky but this has left me with rather a stark image. I think I will wait in future to let my stranger notions dissipate before acting on them !

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.