The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Bird on a wire

This was Tuesday evening (blipped on Wednesday), another lovely sunset end to a calm evening.  After our walk along the estuary watching the sun go down, we walked out to the other side of the viaduct.  This is a better vantage point for the evening bird movements, that included a gathering of pied wagtails on the wires at the edge of the deck.  There is only one visible this close to me, but further along there were forty or more.

The big movements of gulls into the Bay that I have been observing over the last few days were skimming more closely over my head, while small groups of curlews were heading in the opposite direction.  I waited for the evening trains to pass in either direction, but they were a little too late for the best of the light and reflections.

Please don't worry about comments tonight, I haven't managed to do any commenting myself these last two nights, and have not had a chance to say thank you for all the hearts and stars for reflections blip taken the night before this.  They were much appreciated.

ps I am still resisting buying a longer lens that would enable close ups of (most) birds that are not obligingly confiding; somehow I do like the small bird in a big landscape shots.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.