The Edge of the Wold

By gladders

Darter

Wait long enough and the wildlife comes to you.  Or so it seemed this morning when in the early sunshine this Black Darter dragonfly was in the garden.  Usually I go to Foulshaw Moss to see them, and this is the first time I've seen one in my own backyard.  I'm no expert on dragonflies, but I think this is an immature male which is yet to develop its all black livery.  The three yellow spots in the black band on the thorax and the all black legs identify it to the species.

Later in the day there was a Migrant Hawker in the garden too that buzzed my face as I was helping clear up some hedge trimmings.  Eduardo arrived from BW about lunch time and was itching to get on with helping tidy up the garden which has been a bit neglected lately.  He's still out there as I type this at 2030. It is great to have his kind help and company.

Thanks once more for all the stars, hearts and comments on the gold ripples blip. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.