Wide-Angle Wednesday: Mitre Saw

Bobsblips is kindly giving us free rein to blip whatever we like for Widwed at the moment.

I've had a busy day starting to prepare for decorating our bathroom which has recently been refitted and retiled (we went for just half-height tiling except round the bath, so there's walls and ceiling to paint as well as all the woodwork). Actually a fair bit of the day has been spent redoing some of the things the fitters didn't do quite as I wanted; for example they fitted the bath panel before finishing the tiling which meant that the bath panel could no longer be removed should the plumbing ever need further attention - oh dear! Anyway I've solved that one - it was the skirting board that was blocking removal of the panel now that the tiles had limited its sideways movement. Fortunately there was a join in the skirting not far away so I was able to remove a bit of it quite easily (but not without damaging that little bit). Fortunately I'd squirreled away a spare piece of the skirting when I fitted it 20+ years ago - and what's more I actually knew where it was! So having removed the piece of skirting I was able to remove the bath panel and trim it where it baulked against the skirting, then refit a new piece of skirting. Success!

What's this got to do with my blip? Well making joins in skirting works best when done at a 45 degree angle, so I needed to cut one end of the new piece at 45 degrees. Happily I've been the proud possessor of this wonderful mitre saw for many years - it produces the best mitre cuts you could imagine. Whoever designed it is a genius - it's much better than just using a mitre block. So here's a wide-angle photo of the mitre saw in all its glory! (I was working on it in the garage, hence the tyre marks on the concrete floor.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.