Hero encounter

I have loved the work of broadcaster Allan Little for many years so I was delighted to have the opportunity to tell him this when I met him at an event sponsored by the University of Edinburgh this afternoon. There is one piece of his work from about a decade ago that I consider to be one of the best radio broadcasts that I have ever heard. Allan said that I made his day when I reminded him of this particular programme and told him how much I loved it. My own day was made when Allan agreed to be photographed with me :-)

Today's other excitements (of which there were several) included attending a fabulous Edinburgh Book Festival poetry event with Jackie Kay and Carol Ann Duffy (during which I cried because I find their work so moving) followed by a Dangerous Women Project reception, and co-hosting a spontaneous barbecue with Mr hazelh for guests ArcLight and alfthomas. Earlier on I also managed to review student work, answer emails, and hold two PhD supervisions. It has been a very busy and enjoyable day!

The poem that made me cry the most was The Lang Promise by Jackie Kay. There is a podcast of her reading it (on the Scottish Poetry Library web site). The full text is also found online amongst that of other 'Poems for a wedding' published by the Guardian.

Ridgeback13 was also at the poetry reading and reception, and she blipped the poets.

Exercise today: walking (11,669 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.