Tino's Reward

I mentioned in recent weeks that my one time (1996-2000) boss Tino was due to visit us with his wife Silke but due to a hospital sojourn, had to be cancelled. They and their 3 children live in the USA and I still can't work out how he does it, but Tino often manages to fly over with a massive jar of Hellmann's Mayonnaise for me. It has almost become tradition but I think one that he should really reconsider - I hate to be responsible when the plastic jar breaks midflight and the near 2 litre contents get spread all over his clothes.

Today a package arrived from northern Germany where Silke's Mum lives and they had also been visiting. I phoned to thank her and was very surprised when Silke answered the phone. I hadn't realised she had stayed on for a week with the children, Tino had already flown home. Also gave us a chance for a short chat which was great.

For the Blip, I have "dressed" up the jar with knife and fork for a touch of style. I don't need this equipment to enjoy the stuff. It's not generally available in supermarkets in Germany, possibly in some expensive food halls in main cities and then only in tiny jars. There are also German based internet shops selling USA/UK foods. But I treasure the real thing from Tino, just as I treasure the special transatlantic relationship we have now had for 20 years. The time working with Tino for a USA ENT medical device company was probably the most enjoyable of my working career. We often shed blood, sweat and quite a few tears but we knew what we wanted to achieve and together with the great small team of about 10, we went about it in a professional, friendly, fair and fun way. Ande we achieved our goal in 3 years. Success meant the company being bought out by a big shark and Tino went upwards and I jumped ship.

Thank you Silke & Tino and hope  we manage to meet up on your next trip. And I really won't be upset if the Hellmann's doesn't make the trip - perhaps a John Deere sticker to join the JD baseball cap you once brought over. Tino happened to have to fly in to the airport in the city JDs are manufactured in the US - they apparently have a fan shop at the airport!

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.